Jan 212011
 January 21, 2011  Posted by at 5:56 pm Tagged with: ,

2011 Medal Winner

Caldecott Medal Winner A Sick Day For Amos McGee

The American Library Association announced their Youth Awards last week, with the 2011 Caldecott Medal going to Erin Stead for her illustrations in A Sick Day for Amos McGee, written by Philip C. Stead, published by Neal Portor/Macmillan. Published in May, 2010; 32 pages.

From the publisher’s website:


”THE BEST SICK DAY EVER and the animals in the zoo feature in this striking picture book debut. Friends come in all sorts of shapes and sizes. In Amos McGee’s case, all sorts of species, too! Every day he spends a little bit of time with each of his friends at the zoo, running races with the tortoise, keeping the shy penguin company, and even reading bedtime stories to the owl. But when Amos is too sick to make it to the zoo, his animal friends decide it’s time they returned the favor.”

The first editions of Caldecott Medal books have high collectibility the moment the awards are announced. Witness the $100 already being asked – and paid – for the first editions of A Sick Day for Amos McGee. The book was in its 6th printing prior to the award being announced. It is Erin Stead’s first illustrated book, which bodes well for her prospects within the industry.


2011 Honor Books

Caldecott Honor Award Dave The Potter

There were only two Caldecott Honor books. The first is Dave The Potter illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill (Little, Brown). Published on 9/7/2010; 40 Pages. From the publisher’s website:

”To us it is just dirt, the ground we walk on… But to Dave it was clay, the plain and basic stuff upon which he formed a life as a slave nearly 200 years ago. Dave was an extraordinary artist, poet, and potter living in South Carolina in the 1800s. He combined his superb artistry with deeply observant poetry, carved onto his pots, transcending the limitations he faced as a slave. In this inspiring and lyrical portrayal, National Book Award nominee Laban Carrick Hill’s elegantly simple text and award-winning artist Bryan Collier’s resplendent, earth-toned illustrations tell Dave’s story, a story rich in history, hope, and long-lasting beauty.”

Caldecott Honor Award Interrupting Chicken

The other Caldecott Honor winner isInterrupting Chicken written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein (Candlewick Press). Published Aug, 2010; 40 pages. From the publisher’s website:

It’s time for the little red chicken’s bedtime story –and a reminder from Papa to try not to interrupt. But the chicken can’t help herself! Whether the tale is HANSEL AND GRETEL or LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD or even CHICKEN LITTLE, she jumps into the story to save its hapless characters from doing some dangerous or silly thing. Now it’s the little red chicken’s turn to tell a story, but will her yawning papa make it to the end without his own kind of interrupting? Energetically illustrated with glowing colors –and offering humorous story-within-a-story views –this all-too-familiar tale is sure to amuse (and hold the attention of ) spirited little chicks.”

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.