Flotsam (2007)

Posted by

Caldecott Medal First Edition Identification

Flotsam; written and illustrated by David Wiesner; Clarion Books, 2006.

2007 Caldecott Medal

Childrens Picturebook Price Guide: $50 Fine

Flotsam Caldecott Medal First Edition Identification

From Janice Harayda’s excellent One-Minute Book Reviews blog:

"David Wiesner won the 2007 Caldecott Medal today for an eloquent, wordless picture book that encourages children to find the magic in everyday life. […] Throughout Flotsam, shifting perpectives encourage children to see the world from many angles and, above all, to find the extraordinary in ordinary life."

Click here for Full Article

Flotsam is David Wiesner’s third Caldecott Medal, tieing him with Marcia Brown for the most by any illustrator. Wiesner won in 1992 for Tuesday, and in 2002 for The Three Pigs. In addition, he has won two Caldecott Honor awards, in 1989 for Free Fall and in 2000 for Sector 7.

Obviouisly, with this third Caldecott Medal award, Wiesner’s first edition books will increase in collectibility and value. All told, the Children’s Picturebook Price Guide lists twenty-eight books illustrated by Wiesner.

First Edition Identification Points:

Full number line on copyright page:

W O Z  10  9  8  7  6  5  4  3  2  1

Flotsam Caldecott Medal First Edition Identification

Click here for a list of estimated market values for all first edition Caldecott Medal books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *