2016 Caldecott Medal Winners Announced

Posted by

Every year at it’s mid-Winter Conference the American Library Association presents the Caldecott Award “to the artist of the most distinguished American picturebook for children.” In addition to the Medal award, several Caldecott Honor awards are presented to the runner-ups in the category. The awards were announced this past Monday, Jan. 11, 2016.

The day of the announcement the first edition Caldecott Medal and Honor books become instantly collectible, and copies are quickly bought up by both collectors and booksellers, the latter buying them for resale.

2016 Caldecott Medal Winner

Finding Winnie First Edition Caldecott Medal

The 2016 Caldecott Medal winner is Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Lindsay Mattick  (Little Brown).

From the American Library Association’s website:

Finding Winnie is an incredible account of the friendship and love shared between a soldier and the real bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh. Blackall beautifully interprets this multi-dimensional family story through her distinctive Chinese ink and watercolor art, capturing intimate and historical details perfect for a child’s eye.

“Children will be enchanted by Winnie’s journey from the forests of Canada to the pages of the Hundred Acre Wood. Blackall offers a tour-de-force of visual storytelling,” said Caldecott Committee Chair Rachel G. Payne.

Now that Sophie Blackall has won a Caldecott Medal, her earlier first edition children’s picturebooks will have higher collector interest. I was fortunate to acquire a couple of first edition copies of Finding Winnie at a neighborhood independent bookstore.

2016 Caldecott Honor Books

Four books were awarded the Caldecott Honor by the ALA’s Selection Committee. The first edition copies of each of these Caldecott Honor books will have increased collector interest, as will the other first edition books from each of the award winning illustrators.

Trombone Shorty First Edition Caldecott Medal

Trombone Shorty, pictures by Bryan Collier and words by Troy Andrews (Abrams Books for Young Readers). The book was published on April 14, 2015. The book garnered two awards from the American Library Association, as Bryan Collier won the 2016 Coretta Scott King illustrator award for Trombone Shorty.

“In this autobiography, Trombone Shorty reminisces about his early life in the jazz music scene of his beloved hometown of New Orleans. Through Collier’s paintings and collage illustrations, the story’s authentic, heartfelt tone is masterfully realized. “

From Abram’s promotional page:

Hailing from the Tremé neighborhood in New Orleans, Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews got his nickname by wielding a trombone twice as long as he was high. A prodigy, he was leading his own band by age six, and today this Grammy-nominated artist headlines the legendary New Orleans Jazz Fest. Along with esteemed illustrator Bryan Collier, Andrews has created a lively picture book autobiography about how he followed his dream of becoming a musician, despite the odds, until he reached international stardom. Trombone Shorty is a celebration of the rich cultural history of New Orleans and the power of music.

Bryan Collier has previously won three Caldecott Honor awards, in 2011 for Dave The Potter; in 2006 for Rosa; and in 2002 for Martin’s Big Words: the Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr..

Waiting First Edition Caldecott Medal

Waiting illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes and published by Greenwillow Books

Waiting delivers an intimate story of five figurines, each anticipating the wonder of everyday moments. Using rich brown lines and a soft pastel palette, Henkes invites young readers to slow down and explore a range of emotions in a world on a windowsill.

Kevin Henkes has previoiusly won the Caldecott Medal award in 2005 for Kitten’s First Full Moon, and he alsow won a 1994 Caldecott Honor award for his illustrations in Owen.

Voice Of Freedom First Edition Caldecott Medal

Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, illustrated by Ekua Holmes, written by Carole Boston Weatherford (Candlewick Press).

“In this biography in verse, Ekua Holmes’ illustrations provide children with an intensely visual encounter with Civil Rights icon Fannie Lou Hamer. The repetition of colors and motifs within the richly layered collage create complex images that capture Hamer’s power and bravery.”

Last Stop On Market Street First Edition Caldecott Medal

Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson and written by Matt de la Peña (G.P. Putnam)

Readers are transported, along with a young boy and his grandmother, on a journey through the city. Robinson’s illustrations, a colorful mix of acrylic paint and collage, feel both vintage and fresh. The diversity, vibrancy, and beauty of the urban setting are celebrated as CJ and Nana share meaningful moments together.

Last Stop on Market Street also won the Newbery Medal, awarded by the American Library Association “to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” The author, Matt de la Pena won the Newbery Medal, while the illustrator, Christian Robinson, won the Caldecott Honor.

It is unusual for a picturebook to win the Newbery Medal.

In the history of the Newbery, awarded annually since 1922, only one other picturebook has won a Newbery Medal, A Visit To William Blake’s Inn in 1982. Ironically, like Last Stop on Market Street, A Visit To William Blake’s Inn also won a Caldecott Honor for its illustrations by Alice & Martin Provensen.

Christian Robinson was awarded a Coretta Scott King Honor for her illustrations for Last Stop on Market Street, making the book a triple award winner (Newbery Medal, Caldecott Honor, and CSK Honor)

Due the keen collector interest in first edition Newbery Medal winners, expect the Last Stop on Market Street to be highly collectible. The only first edition copy currently on the market is being offered for $1000.

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.

Members of the 2016 Caldecott Medal Selection Committee are: Chair Rachel G. Payne, Brooklyn (N.Y.) Public Library; Lauren Anduri, Oakland (Calif.) Public Library; Alan R. Bailey, East Carolina University, Greenville, N.C.; Jill Bellomy, Highland Park Middle School, Dallas; Sharon Deeds, Utah State Library, Salt Lake City; Brian Fahey, West Chester (Pa.) Friends School; Laura A. Given, Parkview Center School, Roseville, Minn.; Celia W. Jackson, Oakland (Calif.) Public Library; Elise R. Katz, Wayland (Mass.) Free Public Library; Karen A. MacPherson, Takoma Park Maryland Library; Nicole Powell, Sacramento (Calif.) Public Library; Tess Prendergast, British Columbia, Canada; Jennifer Ralston, Harford County (Md.) Public Library; Tessa Michaelson Schmidt, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Madison; and Sarah Bean Thompson, Springfield-Greene County (Mo.) Library.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *